Game Design – Week 11 – Updating Workflow – Mind Like Water

“‘Be shapeless and formless.. like water’ (Bruce Lee)” by Akinini.com is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

“Have a mind like water.”

― David Allen,  GTD

SUMMARY

  • This week was really stressful. With all the work I had to get done combined with my brain refusing to focus on it, it was hard to get stuff in while keeping a good mental state

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

  • Set a timer for 30 minutes in this ‘room’
    • Continue with either ONE of the scripting languages below, Javascript (Construct 3 / PlayCanvas) or C# (Unity)  (NOT BOTH)

Construct 3 / PlayCanvas – Javascript

  • I completed the Module 1 Quiz

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Screenshot from Construct.net
  • Construct 3 is a good and versatile game engine that not only allows you to create games on any computer, including Chromebooks, but also on phones. It can be used to make very well made games, despite not being as code-based as other engines may be.

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

Screenshot from editor.construct.net

OUTSIDE (PRODUCTIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • Set a timer
  • Spend 30 minutes in this ‘room’
Image from bananatreelog.com
  • I have learned that taking time out of my day to talk with friends is one thing that keeps my sanity up during these difficult times. Especially since socializing is part of the fun of school.

STUDIO (CREATIVITY)

Screenshot from Construct Begginer’s Guide
  • I tried to play around with what the tutorial gave me. I added monsters that the player could shoot.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • I learned which happiness chemicals do what in my brain and what to do to keep them up
  • I learned that my brain doesn’t like to do work, but I can help it ease into working by getting myself into a good mood by listening to songs as I work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *