Game Design – Week 10 – GTD – Getting Things Done – Part 2

Image from BiggerPlate.com

Teens are overwhelmed, partly because they don’t yet have the skills to manage the unprecedented amount of stuff that enters their brains each day.  – from LifeHacker.com

“Your mind is for having ideas, not holding them.”

“You can do anything, but not everything.”

― David Allen, (GTD) Getting Things Done for Teens: Take Control of Your Life in a Distracting World

SUMMARY

  • I worked on catching up in Geometry and Biology. Now I only have a few assignments until I’m all caught up.

PlayCanvas – Javascript

  • I completed up to the Mathematical Operators lesson.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Screenshot from Animated Book Summary And Review at YouTube
  • I learned that having a system of getting things done can help you, well, get things done. Timers can help in getting these things done, but I find it only makes me focus on how much time I left.

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot from Animated Book Summary And Review at YouTube

Examine Two GTD Maps: Basic and Detailed

  1. Detailed map by guccio@文房具社 icensed under CC BY-NC 2.0
  2. Basic map from BiggerPlate.com embedded below

GTD-based Trusted System

Image from Trello.com
  1. Your phone

OUTSIDE (PRODUCTIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • There were some cute ducks in the pond near my house.

STUDIO (CREATING MAPS)

  • Work on Biology project
  • Finish Game Design Blog Posts
  • Record voice for Choir

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • I learned that if I take some time out of my day to take a walk and enjoy time with friends, that will get me more in the mood for doing my work. Even though I get sidetracked sometimes, it’s better than being completely focused on work all the time and being unhappy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *